“You can do better”

Happy Weekend!

I’m currently very busy, with my GCSE exams looming in just three weeks, it’s all about studying and trying to sleep as much as possible; (just general survival really!)

Although, today I wanted to talk about something that’s been bugging me recently.



People saying “You have so much more potential” or ” You can do better than that.” Yes, I may very well have an array of potential and ability waiting to be unleashed, yet that doesn’t include the Twelve other subjects all waving their little arms, saying “pick me“, “come and focus on me” !!

I dislike it when people assume that just because my target grades hint success, that I will be an A* (excuse me – a grade 9) student throughout my exams. This is reality, and I am not just a list of numbers on a spreadsheet. Exams have little allowance for feelings, good days, bad days, sleep, let alone being a young carer. Yet, we are told to buckle down and work hard, as if we’ve all been slacking for the previous 11 years of education.

We all dread the days when test scores are returned to us, saying we didn’t work hard enough, even though not even the subject is sure of what we are actually meant to know. When in my life am I going to need to know the quadratic formula back to front, and 21 physics equations that I can’t memorise for the life of me. When? When am I being taught how to stay afloat? To not be consumed by the mental issues this has put in front of us?

This year began with a downward spiral of depression for me, a long drawn out and painfully dark storm of feeling empty yet being filled with so many emotions wanting to get out. I was feeling the pressure of exams, friendships, and trying to stand on my own two feet. I wasn’t sure I could handle anything, I felt weak and exhausted constantly, but yet I had to push on…

It didn’t get easier, but eventually the days got brighter and I came round to the thought I have today; I will do as well as I do, and that will not define what I can or cannot achieve. There is nothing that can’t be achieved if you want it bad enough. Grades on a piece of paper, that will probably mean nothing in a few years, do not make me a disappointment. I will not accept comments in August of “if you’re attendance was better“, ” you could’ve done better than that” or ” you had so much potential“. I had potential, I have ambition, but I also have a life, I have the responsibility of a carer.

So parents, family, carers, friends, who ever you are, if you know someone taking their exams, please, please don’t make unnecessary comments, please don’t ask if they’re planning to go to university, and please don’t assume that reality is taken into consideration whatsoever in exams.

We’re trying our hardest, we really are, in a world full of body negativity, ideals and bullies, we’re really trying. So don’t be sad when the results come back, don’t feel shame, acknowledge that we tried and that the results do not limit us. We are 15 or 16 we have so much ahead of us, so please don’t take that away from us.

With my deepest gratitude,

A GCSE student



I’m glad I’ve finally been able to write something! (Even if it is to do with exams!)

It’s my 16th on Wednesday, so I’m hopeful that I can get something else up this week!

Thank you all for your patience with my terrible organisation, it’ll all be back to normality by June!

” Life doesn’t require that we be the best, only that we try our best.” – H. Jackson Brown Jr.

All my love,

The odd pigeon xx

One thought on ““You can do better”

Add yours

  1. Well done Olivia you will do Yourself proud and all your family and we are proud of you as well lots of love from both of us xxx

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑